Taking 10: What I Learnt

 

In theory, finding 10 minutes a day to meditate should be easy peasy. In practice, I found it really, really difficult.

I’m going to get straight to the point – I failed the Take 10 challenge. And by failed, I mean I only managed to complete 5/10 days. I did, however, learn a lot about myself. I now know that I’ll prioritise meaningless stuff like browsing Facebook and watching YouTube videos over a ten minute mediation session, simply because I enjoy doing those things more, and meditating feels like more effort to me.

Truth is, meditation is effort. Especially when I’m at my most anxious or depressed, when being left alone with my mind is pretty scary and uncomfortable. Those are the times when watching a funny cat video feels far more therapeutic than sitting alone with my thoughts ever does. Do you feel the same? Am I alone in this? I doubt it.

Despite failing the challenge overall, I still managed to meditate 5 times in 10 days… and that’s a personal record! So, there has been some level of achievement these past days. Yay me.

The most important question, the one that most people have asked, is; ‘Did it actually do you any good?’ And the honest answer is YES. It really did. Practicing mindfulness helped me to become a marginally calmer person, which is huge considering I’m plagued by my anxiety every single day. I’ve also learnt to do other activities mindfully, like walking the dog, or drinking my tea. Noticing the details of everyday life and basking in them has helped to combat my de-personalisation, which is massive.

So, will I continue to practice mindfulness in future? Absolutely. In one form or another, I believe it will have a place in my life from now on. Consider me a fan.

If you haven’t tried it yet, I’d totally recommend it. Even if you fail like I did, you might just learn something valuable along the way.

 

Leave a Reply

