10 Tips for Dealing with Anxiety

If you’re struggling with anxiety, here are some tips you might find useful:

  1. Focus on your breathing.
    You’ll have heard this over and over, but focusing on your breathing can do wonders for calming anxiety. There are lots of really useful breathing timers available online, such as this one from Do As One.
  2. Alter your posture.
    When I’m feeling anxious, I draw my shoulders up and hug my upper body with my arms, often without even realising I’m doing it. Making a conscious effort to relax your posture could help to reduce some of the anxiety you are feeling.
  3. Go for a walk.
    Fresh air and exercise do wonders for the mind. If you are able, try to go for a walk outside, even if it’s only for ten minutes or so.
  4. Have a bath.
    This one might be preferable to facing the outside world – taking a nice long soak in the bath can do wonders for your mind set.
  5. Listen to some calming music.
    There are plenty of calming playlists available on Spotify and Youtube – give one a listen and see if it helps. You could also try RainyMood.com.
  6. Doodle.
    If I’m having trouble calming my mind, I doodle – on my planner, all over my notes, on scrap pieces of paper. It doesn’t have to be a work of art, just grab a pen and draw something. If nothing else, it’s a good distraction.
  7. Make a list.
    Organisation can be wonderfully therapeutic – make a to-do list and unburden your mind.
  8. Make a fuss of your pets.
    Go and cuddle your dog or cat. They’ll appreciate the love, and it’ll help you feel a bit brighter.
  9. Drink some water.
    Staying hydrated is surprisingly important to our mental health. Make sure you’re getting enough to drink throughout the day.
  10. Meditate.
    This isn’t everyone’s cup of tea, but meditation can be pretty great. Give it a try if you’re skeptical. Headspace is a wonderful app if you’re a complete novice.

Those are my best tips – I hope you find at least one of them to be helpful!

Leave a Reply

